[复制链接]
发表于 2009-12-15 23:39:51 | 显示全部楼层 |阅读模式

马上注册,结交更多好友,享用更多功能,让你轻松玩转社区。

您需要 登录 才可以下载或查看,没有账号?注册

x
2004诺贝化学奖泛素系统发现者

Some Lessons from My Work on the Biochemistry of the Ubiquitin System
Avram Hershko
From the Unit of Biochemistry, The B. Rappaport Faculty of Medicine, and the Rappaport Institute
for Research in the Medical Sciences, Technion-Israel Institute of Technology, Haifa 31096, Israel

When I was asked to write a Reflections article for the Journal of Biological Chemistry, I initially hesitated, mainly because I had already written several papers on the story of the discovery of the ubiquitin system (1–4). On second thought, however, it seemed worthwhile to write about it from a different aspect, about what can be learned from this story. I hope that some of the lessons may be of help to students or young investigators in their future work.

I first became interested in biochemistry when I was a medical student at the Hebrew University in Jerusalem. The curriculum of most medical schools includes a considerable amount of basic science, and many medical students are not always happy about it, but I enjoyed my courses in biochemistry so much that I wanted to do some laboratory research. I was very fortunate to have Jacob Mager of the Hebrew University as my first mentor in biochemistry (Fig. 1). Mager was a biochemist of immense knowledge, indeed a walking encyclopedia of biochemical sciences. He was also a very strict and rigorous experimentalist; every experiment had to be done with all possible controls, and every result had to be verified from all possible angles. I owe a lot to him for providing me with a solid and broad background of sound and rigorous biochemistry.